A place for me to show off all my wargames stuff.

28mm scale ploughed field

More Dumfries show extras…

Whilst my partners in crime are providing the buildings for the vilage in the centre of the board I couldn’t resist trying out an idea that came to me for a small ploughed field.

Field (1) Field

It is made from a sheet of blue-foam (5mm thickness) glued to a base of 2mm MDF.

I then cut a slot roughly 1/2 inch in from the edge and approximately the thickness of a coffee stirer. I then cut triangles out of the middle section to make my ploughed area.

Next I cut a load of coffee stirers into 25mm lengths and glued them all into the slot I had cut out, a couple of 30mm lenghts either side of the gate and retained the rounded end on a few sections to make the gate stand out. Sand was then glued over everything and painted when dry.

This was a littel time consuming because of cutting the coffee stirers but other than that I was really pleased with a simple idea that I think worked out pretty well.

Leave a comment